Innovative Learning Conference - 2015

ILC 2017 presenters will include pre-eminent scholars, thought leaders, and experts in their fields. Information on 2015 speakers and strands is provided here.

Please sign up below to receive updates on the 2017 conference.

What people are saying...

“Excellent speakers. Great variety of topics and multiple options so attendees get a big bang for their buck. I found this educational event (and The Nueva School, its students, faculty, and staff) among the most outstanding in my career.”

Judy Willis, M.D., Neurologist,
Teacher, Author, Consultant

"The Nueva conference is my gold standard...Their conference is not a business, it’s a learning experience, and I just so value that."

Diane Frankenstein
Strategic Literacy Consultant

Fill out the form below to receive ILC updates!

Email *

First Name

Last Name

* Required Field



Attention Educators:
Scholarships and CEUs available.

Please note:
Thursday, October 15 is for Professional Educators only.

Thank you to our 2015 sponsors!


Featured speakers for the 2015 conference included:
2015 Innovative Learning Conference Schedules

David Kelley



Tiffany Shlain

Emmy-nominated Filmmaker

Webby Awards Founder

Ned Hallowell

Child and Adult Psychiatrist

Learning Differences Expert

Founder, The Hallowell Centers

Catherine Steiner-Adair

Clinical Psychologist

School Consultant

Speaker and Author

Laurence Steinberg

Professor of Psychology

Temple University

Robert Sapolsky

Author, Why Zebras Don't Get Ulcers


Stanford University

Sandra Kaplan

Professor of Clinical Education


Rossier School of Education

Denise Pope

Co-Founder, Challenge Success

Senior Lecturer

Stanford University

Frank Worrell


UC Berkeley

Graduate School of Education

Susie Wise

K12 Lab Network Director

Stanford University

Susan Assouline


University of Iowa

Belin-Blank Center

Julie Lythcott-Haims

Writer, Motivational Speaker,


Adam Gazzaley


University of California, San Francisco

Pete Bowers


WordWorks Literacy Centre

Barbara Kerr


University of Kansas

Dominic Randolph

Head of School

Riverdale Country School

Megan Cowan

Co-Founder and Program Director

Mindful Schools

John Seely Brown

Independent Co-Chairman

USC, Deloitte Center

for Edge Innovation

Scott Barry Kaufman

Scientific Director

University of Pennsylvania

Imagination Institute

Dan Roam


Digital Roam Inc.

Megan Foley Nicpon

Associate Professor

University of Iowa

College of Education

Martin Boronson


One Moment Meditation

Stephan Beal


California College of the


Jeremy Bailenson

Associate Professor, Founding Director

Stanford University

Virtual Human Interaction Lab

Erik Burmeister


Hillview Middle School

Alyssa Gallagher

Assistant Superintendant

Los Altos School District

Glen Tripp

Founder & CEO

Galileo Learning

Elizabeth Rood


Bay Area Discovery Museum

Center for Childhood Creativity

Sally Reis

Vice Provost for Academic Affairs

University of Connecticut

Kyle Shaffer


KIPP Excelencia Community Prep

Christopher Gardner

Professor of Medicine

Stanford University

Stanford Prevention Research Center

Philippe Goldin

Assistant Professor

UC Davis

Betty Irene Moore

School of Nursing

Mark Hatch



David Levy


Univ. of Washington

Information School

Ali Partovi


Fumiko Hoeft

Associate Professor,

Director of BrainLENS

UCSF School of Medicine

George Kembel

Global Director and Co-Founder

Stanford University

Janice Toben


Institute for SEL

Susanna Loeb

Professor of Education

Stanford University

Rush Sabiston Frank

Institute for SEL

Bob Bain

Associate Professor

University of Michigan

Warren Berger

Author, A More Beautiful Question:

The Power of Inquiry to Spark

Breakthrough Ideas

Tom Maiorana

Founder and Designer

Red Cover Studios

Vida Mia Garcia

Ethnographer and Moderator

Red Cover Studios

Kim Saxe

Director, K-12 Innovation Labs

The Nueva School

Ann Cooper

Author, Chef, Educator, Speaker

Chef Ann Foundation

Ric Zappa

Head of Schools

and Character Development

KIPP Bay Area Schools

Dorothy M. Steele

Executive Director (retired)

Stanford University

Center for Comparative Studies

in Race and Ethnicity

Becki Cohn-Vargas


Not In Our School

Smita Kolhatkar

Educational Technology Teacher

Palo Alto Unified School District

Robert Pronovost

STEM Lead Coordinator

Ravenswood City School District

Dept. of Curriculum & Instruction

Arun Ramanathan


Pivot Learning Partners

Sally Keyes

Professional Development Director

Silicon Valley Math Initiative

Raymond McCauley

Chair, Biotech Track

Singularity University

Founder, Platypus Project

Principal, Exponential Biosciences

Robert Poynton

Author, Facilitator, Consultant, Coach

Founder, On Your Feet

Stacey Wang

Director of Personalized Learning

Oakland Unified School District

William Damon


Stanford Center on Adolescence


Stanford University

Georgia Heard

Writer, Poet

Founding member,

Teachers College

Reading and Writing Project

Jeanne Liedtka

Professor of Business Administration

Darden Graduate School of Business

University of Virginia

Camille Caron

Senior Business Development

and Product Manager

Project Ignite


Erica Fortescue

Associate Director

Center for Childhood Creativity

Sara Norris


Center for Childhood Creativity

Simone Marean

Co-Founder, Executive Director

Girls Leadership Institute

Steve Barrett

Director of Outreach

Wildwood School

Lisa Miller


Founder, Spirituality Mind Body Institute

Columbia University

Kelsey Vrooman

Director of Educational Technology

The Urban School

Mark Salkind

Head of School

The Urban School

Geoff Ruth

Academic Dean

The Urban School

Riley Maddox

Mathematics Teacher

The Urban School

Susan Lyon

Founder, The Innovative Teacher Project

Mills College

Saraleah Fordyce


California College of the Arts

Stacey Childress

Chief Executive Officer

NewSchools Venture Fund

Keith Devlin

Co-founder & Executive Director,

H-STAR Institute

Co-founder, Stanford Media X

Research Network

Brian Greenberg

Chief Executive Officer

Silicon Schools Fund

Ben Foss

Author, Activitst &


Nancy Cushen White

Professor & Learning

Disabilities Specialist

University of San Francisco

Department of Pediatrics

Nicole Cerra

Director of Curriculum & Instruction

Founder & Founding Teacher

Design Tech High School

Jo Boaler


Stanford University

Graduate School of Education

Olatunde Sobomehin

Director of Vision & Innovation

and Co-Founder

Esface, Inc.

Thyra Briggs

Vice President Admission &

Financial Aid

Harvey Mudd College

Phil Ballinger

Associate Vice Provost for

Enrollment & Undergraduate Admissions

University of Washington

Art Rodriguez

Dean of Admission & Financial Aid

Vassar College

Bruce McCandliss


Graduate School of Education

Stanford University

Vicki Moore

Education Director

Living Classroom

Michael Schurr

Riverdale Country Schools

Emma Scripps

Program Designer, The Teachers Guild


The Innovative Learning Conference is presented by
The Nueva School
6565 Skyline Boulevard, Hillsborough, CA 94010
and 131 E 28th Avenue, San Mateo, CA 94403

For more information about the conference, please email or call 650-350-4560.
For more information about The Nueva School, visit